Home, Home on the Range

Surprise, Surprise, we bought a house in Plainville, Kansas.

Why? To simplify. To simplify life down to its essence. To be able to focus on what really matters in our life. We don’t need the $400k house on a hill and our kids don’t need the pressure of keeping up with “the Jones” even if we can afford it.

It gets deeper than just relinquishing material possessions but we will get into that in the coming weeks/months as I begin the remodeling process of our purchase. From now til June I will be spending about a week a month out in rural America working on remodeling a 1983 modular home. I’m a little more than crazy but I have a vision that it will turn out to something we can call home for at least the next 4 years.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rgv5Zo5Qg7U&feature=share

So much for a professional start hope y’all will forgive my amateur video skills… follow the below link to watch the “Home Tour (before)” on YouTube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iFl6CHF7daU&feature=share

So we’ve got some work to do. Good news is that’s it’s getting a new roof and gutters very soon and that will not come out of my renovation budget. My initial reno budget is approximately $10k and I’m hoping to keep it under $15k so I can get that hot tub I really want. Wink. Wink.

God has bigger plans in store for us, as individuals, as a couple and as a family. I hope you’ll be following me through this process.

With love, DK

Author: simpledistillate

Hi Darci & Eric Kimmerling life, love and journeys of faith and friendship.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started